Gunkan, or warship, is the perfect name for this island covered with lifeless, reinforced-concrete buildings.
Coal mine development began here around 1890. At its peak, over 5000 people lived on this tiny island, thus leading to the construction of its massive reinforced-concrete apartment buildings. The shift to petroleum led to the island's decline and eventually its current status as an uninhabited island with nothing but abandoned buildings remaining. Only certain parts of the island are accessible for tours.
|ADDRESS||Hashima, Takashimacho, Nagasaki-shi|
|ACCESS||30 min. ride on Gunkanjima Landing Tour Ships from Nagasaki Port. (Reservation required)|
|OTHER CONTACT INFO||Nagasaki City Ajisai Call Center|
|CREDIT CARD||Not accepted|
Places near here